The elections of members to Senate was conducted on 25 October 2017, in accordance the University of Queensland Act 1998, the University’s Elections Policy and Electoral Code, and the timetable noted by Senate on 27 February 2017.

The following candidates  were elected:

One member of the Academic Board: Associate Professor Greg Hainge

One member of academic staff: Associate Professor Tony Roberts

One member of professional staff: Ms Rebecca Hurst

One postgraduate student for 2018-2019: Mr Thomas Mackay

One undergraduate student for 2018-2019: Mr Zachary Thomas

Three graduates of the University: Associate Professor Douglas Cavaye, Adjunct Associate Professor Dimity Dornan AO, and Ms Kathy Hirschfeld